Stewart Lee at The Stand, Glasgow

My favourite stand-up comic is Stewart Lee, and one of his funniest routines is this one in 2005 at The Stand in Glasgow, where he takes on Braveheart and the full might of Scottish myth. For a long time I didn’t know where or when the performance took place, but through the magic of Youtube I found a video of the full set, of which the Braveheart segment is only a clip.

So here’s the Braveheart clip, as a taster in case you’ve never heard of Lee, followed by a complete video of the set. He’s a bit like Marmite, people tend to either love or hate him.

5 thoughts on “Stewart Lee at The Stand, Glasgow

  1. Thanks for the introduction to Stewart Lee’s comedy….I’m going searching for more of him. Despite managing to offend most of the English-speaking nationalities, he does it with such great smoothness and charm:0)). He’s also got a smart-looking jacket on!

  2. Yeah I agree with Beth. Never heard of him before but I like him a lot. Very edgy, and he pushes boundaries with a Scottish audience beyond risk and gets away with it. As a matter of interest (because we’ll be seeing him in Hobart in March, at great expense!), do you think Billy Connolly is seen by the Scots as having sold out (mansion in LA etc)? I still think he’s very funny but he may be sadly past it. I hope not.

    • I don’t think Billy Connolly is seen as selling out, though he attracted some negative comments for sitting on the fence in the Independence referendum. I’ve never had the pleasure of seeing him live, so I envy you the chance.

      • We saw him in Sydney about 15 years ago and it was the funniest show I’ve seen. Much edgier than I expected, and fearless. He managed to offend a third of the audience (Australians love him and are pretty tolerant) and then yelled insults at those who were leaving. What a hoot. Our son is paying for the tickets as a Christmas present, bless him.

Leave a comment