Poetry: Bryan Reid

Catherine McCallum

Bryan Reid was the founding secretary of the Johnson Society of Australia and is a true Johnsonian, a person ‘devoted to the works and life and personality’ of Samuel Johnson and of his biographer James Boswell. Bryan is also a journalist, an author and occasional poet, and a dear friend. As far as I know, he’s not submitted any of his poetry for publication, but I think good poetry should be shared, even if it’s in a blog post!  These are two of his poems I love.

Hunting and gathering

Last night I lost adumbrate.
I thought I had it well
and truly penned, but
some time between
my second glass of wine and
my first glass of scotch
it slipped away
back into the thickets
of the Concise Oxford.
Still, I managed yesterday
to rope and tie condign and
corral paradigm, but
I just missed out on
recondite

View original post 172 more words

3 thoughts on “Poetry: Bryan Reid

  1. Pingback: QUOTE: Poetry and Truth | Consomme Azul Hope

Leave a Reply

