Visual Library Catalogue: The Man in the Picture

The Man in the Picture FB

This is the same Susan Hill who wrote The Woman in Black, so you can expect a good, scary, old-fashioned ghost story. I bought this from the Red Cross shop, and read it a while ago, before seeing the film version of The Woman in Black. My review of the film is  here.

The Man in the Picture is also about supernatural revenge, mediated through a picture, with a sense of gathering oppression that doesn’t let up. It has the quality of a nightmare. Very satisfying.

5 thoughts on “Visual Library Catalogue: The Man in the Picture

  1. I read all Susan Hill’s books when she was first publishing and then I read one I didn’t like which combined with an interview with her I read and I have been put off… maybe I should try her again?

      • You have it completely, M.R. James – absolutely! When I say I didn’t like her books it was the story they told – she is an amazing writer and I really admire her! And yes, she is old-fashioned in the best possible way!

  2. Pingback: Book Review | ‘The Woman in Black’ by Susan Hill « Wordly Obsessions

Leave a Reply

