Monster Salad

I decided to start eating healthily as part of my preparations for the Apocalypse. Usually I live out of cans, except for breakfast, which is a boiled egg, muesli, and yoghurt. Nothing much to eat during the day, and a gut-crippling evening meal of curried rice, red kidney beans, and tuna, with a can of new potatoes thrown in so I get my daily allowance of starch. Followed by a bowl of custard, the comfort food of the Gods. Doctor Who likes his custard with fish fingers – I tried that but they have to be almost frozen or else crumble into the custard. I’m a purist about custard.

Ever since I murdered my saucepan a couple of days ago, along with five innocent, terminally over-boiled eggs, I’ve been thinking about making changes. Even with a new saucepan, it felt like the right thing to do.

Today I went to Tesco in search of salad stuff. It’s difficult to know what to get, so I started with leafy things, carrots, peppers, mushrooms, spring onions, proper onions, mature cheddar, tuna, and a can of new potatoes (old habits die hard). Oh, and a can of custard, because if the whole thing went pear-shaped, at least I’d have that to fall back on. I worry with salad that there won’t be enough to satisfy my hunger.

My fears were unfounded. Using only a handful of leaves, 1 carrot, 1 pepper, 3 mushrooms, 3 spring onions, a can of tuna, and some grated cheese, I filled this enormous plate to heaping height. There wasn’t even room for a boiled egg, and I had to eat the already boiled new potatoes separately. You can judge the size of the plate in comparison to my MacBook.

Monster Salad #1

The custard topped off a perfect meal. Think I might be a convert to salads. Here is the landscape view.

Monster Salad #2

8 thoughts on “Monster Salad

  1. Pingback: Salad days | Catherine McCallum

Leave a Reply

