Daily Photo Challenge: Millennium Ghosts

Once again, I left it till very late to get the daily photograph – 4:00 on an overcast afternoon. Almost as if I’m tempting fate and testing my ability. Today I was lucky.

There used to be a ro-ro ferry from Campbeltown to Ballycastle in Northern Ireland. I walked down to the old ferry terminal – I say old, really it was born in 1997 and died in 1999. You can see the building in the background of some these photos. This is also where the Millennium sculptures are planted. Do you remember the Millennium, when it seemed like a real milestone and the start of something new?

So this part of town is fraught with monuments to disappointment and regret, and it seemed quite appropriate to be photographing them in late autumn, as night approached. I’d never properly looked at them before, but the urgency of finding subjects for the Challenge made me see them with fresh eyes.

Here’s what I saw.

4 thoughts on “Daily Photo Challenge: Millennium Ghosts

Leave a Reply

