NaNoWriMo Diary: Day 3

Don’t you just hate people like that? I’m talking about Prolific Polly, of course.

At this point I’m beginning to lose the will to live. Mentally and physically exhausted. All the joy has been sucked out of my life, and I don’t have time or energy to blog, or read and comment on other blogs. There’s always the novel, looming over the day, demanding a sacrifice of words.

I wrote 1,074 hard-won words today, 2,795 in total. Slipping behind already. On the plus side, it’s more than I ever thought I’d write towards a novel. On the negative side, it’s like pulling teeth. I cannot write fiction fast and fluently, or just do a brain dump. I’m continually aware of writing crap, and it doesn’t make a bit of difference that it’s “allowed.”

So the cure is working. The question is, how long do I have to stay in boot camp?

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Diary: Day 3

  1. I feel for you! (as you already know) I paint pictures, and I see artists who churn them out at an amazing rate. I can’t. I work slow and think slow and that’s me 🙂 I get really fed up if I try to churn out stuff that I have not given enough thinking time to, even if it may not in fact be obvious in the finished result. People are beginning to call me prolific, but that is mainly because the other thing I do very slowly is sell anything!

Leave a Reply

