NaNoWriMo Diary

Yesterday was a disaster. See my bridge-burning rant, the purpose of which is to make me write a novel in 30 (now 29 )days, and thus inocculate myself against wanting to write a novel ever again. Then I can get back to reading the good stuff without thinking, “I wish I could do that!” Brutal but necessary, like an aversion program to stop smoking – you keep on smoking till you’re sick.

The problem is that I didn’t have a story, so I just rambled for 1,000 words before tossing the whole thing. Last night I dreamed of the beginning of a story, and that’s a lifeline. Better, perhaps, to not know where it’s going. And it has characters who aren’t me, though I will inevitably draw on my life history.

To the bank, haircut (booked yesterday), and then let’s see what’s possible.

Well, something is. Word count today: 1721. Average today and yesterday when I wrote nothing: 860. It’s a horror story. I won’t say anything else because if I talk it out I won’t be able to write it out.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Diary

  1. Please don’t toss the whole thing. I’d rather read your ramblings than some other fucks well thought out plot. Keep writing until you get to the end then stop writing.

Leave a Reply

