Live Music in Campbeltown

On Friday March 19, I had my first taste of live Scottish traditional music outside of the Seattle Folklife Festival.

Gillian Frame and Fiona MacAskill were playing at the White Hart Hotel, along with Canterach and some guests whose names I have shamefully forgotten.

This was a whole new experience for me. Celtic music usually goes in one ear and out the other, but this was different. Perhaps it was the venue, a small second floor room with a bar, and the all-age audience, everyone from small children to grandparents, all warmly appreciative and proud of their heritage. The bonhomie was tangible.

Whatever it was, the spell took, and I was in heaven, caught up in a thundering surf of fiddles bagpipes, drums, and guitars. Tossed breathless onto the beach at intermission (with time to get another pint), and swept up again for the second half. Martha, a friend in Seattle, is a fiddler who loves Scottish music. I wished she were there, and I wanted to tell her that yes, I get it now.

So, check out the links to their myspace pages and see what you think. Hope you’ll be as gobsmacked as I was.

Leave a Reply

